I went for a little drive today, I love my little day trips!  First stop was the Kelso Depot in the Mojave National Preserve.  I’ve been wanting to visit this spot since I read about it a while back.   Turned out the drive was a little loner than I thought, almost 5 hours away….Yes I am laughing!   Beautiful train station and museum!!   Worth a visit if you are ever in the neighborhood….haha   While there I spent some time driving through the gorgeous Mojave National Preserve where I was pretty much the ONLY car on the road. It was wonderful! https://www.nps.gov/moja/learn/historyculture/kelso-depot.htm

After lunch I headed for home, and I HAD to stop at the Barstow train station and museum!   I knew this was a large train station,  but it was even bigger than I imagined!  I was talking to a nice lady inside the train station that told me that the building was built in 1911, and it still had many of the original features, including the original tile flooring.  I can’t wait to go back and bring my wife!  http://www.barstowharveyhouse.com

History man, its awesome!

 

